Birthday Bliss

10 Dec

So Tuesday was my 100th day of this trip (Thanks for doing the maths Grandpa); it also happened to coincide with my birthday.

I got up reasonably early and enjoyed the cool of the forest I had camped in. I had my first nice fast descent for a long time, but got a  puncture front and pack from hitting a pot hole when I was overtaking a truck. After I had fixed the wheels I set off again and had some excellent puri (fried flat breads served with curry) for breakfast. 

I was hoping for a shorter days riding but, due to the days riding before, I still had 80km to cover before I could get to a hotel, and a cold beer. Luckily for the first time in a while the roads were smooth with very few bumpy sections; I was zipping along at 22 km an hour with ease and it gave me time to think. When it is bumpy I have to concentrate on my line and speed whereas on the flat and smooth I can just ride and let my mind wander more.

Now with it being my birthday it made me think back to my previous ones; I have been lucky that the last few years I have had some smashing bashes thanks to my chums. It made me think of my family, and at being at home and Mum making a cake and a nice meal. I would have liked those things, to see those people, but it also made me think about the trip. It made me realise that I could have been anywhere in the world, doing a lot of different things, but I was there flying along in the sun on my bike. And most importantly, that that was what I wanted to be doing. I rode along quickly all morning with a smile that I couldn’t get off my face.

I made good time and got to Bahwanipatna by 1; found a hotel, had some lunch and then had a cold beer. On my ride into the town I had seen a big rocky hill, so made my way out of town and up that for the sunset with a nice view. An evening of a few more beers and plenty of street food followed.

(When I get a room in a town I very rarely get on big evening meal, normally I frequent 3 or 4 of the little street stalls which sell small meals or snacks. On my birthday I found one of the best ones yet, I can’t remember the name but it was some sort of chaat. Spherical crisps had a hole pushed in the top, filled with pea and potato curry, 2 sauces, one creamy one sweet and tangy, various spices and topped with crisp salad of carrot, beet and onion and crunchy little Bombay mix bits. They were such a good combination and balance of texture, moisture and flavour that explodes as you put them in your mouth. I went back there 4 times in the 2 days I was there.)

I spent the evening drinking a couple more beers and wandering and then reading. All in all a very nice day.

So there it is, sorry it’s not me falling off my bike, getting kidnapped or attacked by a tiger but  that is how my birthday was so, I thought I would share with you.

 

Map updated and photos updated

2 Responses to “Birthday Bliss”

  1. James Botting December 20, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    Food sounds great mate. What will you have on the 25th?? I have put a few rupees into your account so get yourself a turkey curry on me, or have a ride on an elephant or something…Happy christmas from Brighton!

  2. Danneaux December 22, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Phil…you’re not forgotten! Best wishes for a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, wherever you may be at the time. May it be fun and safe, and filled with joy though far from home. Belated birthday wishes. All the best, Dan. (Danneaux at Thorn Cycling Forums)

Leave a Reply

